County Championships (National)

31st March

The morning session saw the 1st team playing Surreys 1st team for what effectively was the title deciding match. Surrey won 6-4, with quite a few of the matches going the full distance with a decider in the 5th . The 1st team went on to win their remaining matches and finished runners-up. The 2nd team drew with Surrey 2, lost to Surrey 1 and beat Sussex finishing on 2 points. Well done to all the players.

What I witnessed today bodes well for the future of table tennis in Middlesex. I do hope that these talented bunch of individuals continue developing their skills. I expect to see some of them at the very least on the national stage

10th March

Team 1 in the Veterans Division 1B, played Sussex 2 and Norfolk , drawing both matches, finishing 3rd overall.

9th March

The last set of matches for the other veteran teams. Team 2 drew with Hertfordshire 2 and beat Kent 3 7-3 to win Division 2C. Team 3 drew with Bedfordshire and lost narrowly to Buckinghamshire 4-6 finishing 6th in Division 2B. Team 4 lost to Cambridgeshire 0-10 and 4-6 to Kent 4 to ens up being relegated. Team 5 drew with Berkshire 3 and lost 1-9 to Surrey 4 to finish bottom in Division 3C.

9th and 10th February

Veteran 6th team played their final set of matches. The team lost 1-9 to Buckinghamshire 2, beat Cambridgeshire 3 6-4and beat Kent 5 by the same margin. The team finished 5th in Divsion 3C.

2nd and 3rd February.

Woodgreen TTC was the venue for the final round of matches in the Premier Division . Mitchell Jones was injured and the pressure was on the team to tray and maintain their place in the Premier Division which goes all the way back to 1947, when the matches were first played. The team did not disappoint. Israel Awolaja, Gaurav Aravind, Dariusz Zurowski , Sarah Horsnell and Malgorzata Muda, beat Warwickshire 6-4, drew with Derbyshire and Leicestershire and beat Yorkshire 6-4, to finish in 4th position on 8 points.

19th January 2019

A number of Veteran teams in action. The 1st team played Essex and Kent 2, beating both 8-2. the 2nd team beat Surrey 2 9-1 and Essex 2 7-3. The 3rd team lost 3-7 to Northamptonshire and Suffolk respectively. Team 4 lost 4-6 to Bedfordshire and 2-8 to Buckinghamshire. Team 5 beat Hertforshire 6-4 with Leslie Samuels winning both his matches against higher ranked opponents.

15th & 16th December

Our Junior 1st team were in action in the Premier Division, hoping to retain their place in this division, after having won it last season, but had a weakened team with just a sole girl playing. This put a lot of pressure on everyone, and a a consequence, they lost all their matches over the weekend and were relegated.

9th December

The Veterans 1st team played Surrey, Berkshire and Dorset. They beat Surrey 8-2, lost to Berkshire 2-8, and drew with Dorset.

8 December

A number of Veteran teams were in action.

Veteran 2nd team . 3 matches and 3 wins against Cambridgeshire 2 (9-1), Surrey 3 (9-1) and Sussex 3 (10-0). Veteran 3rd team – played Cabridgeshire and Kent 4 lost 2-8 and won 7-3 respectively. Veterans 4th team, lost both their matches against Northamptonshire and Suffolk 1-9. The Veterans 5th team played 3 matches , lost 3-7 to Berkshire 2, 0-10 to Hertfordshire 3 and 4-6 to Kent 6.

1 December

Senior 2nd team in action again. Good 6-4 win over Lancashire in the morning followed by a close loss 4-6 to Lincolnshire.

17th and 18th November

Senior 2nd team in action . There 3 matches on Saturday starting with Northumberland, a 4-6 loss. Northampton next a 6-4 win followed by a 3-7 loss to Bedfordshire. Sunday saw another 3-7 loss and a draw with Essex . 2 more matches to be played at Scunthorpe on 1st December.

Veteran Over 60s team played 2 matches against Surrey and Berkshire. A draw with Surrey and a 7-3 win over Berkshire

11th November

The Veteran 3rd and 4th teams played each other . Middlesex 3 beat Middlesex 4 8-2, with Rhyan Nelson beating Laikram Persaud and Michale Slifkin & Jo Radiven beating Radovan Zivkovic and Silvia Trenti.

27th & 28th October

The Senior 1st team was in action over this weekend playing 3 matches at Cippenham Table Tennis Club. First match on Saturday was against Nottinghamshire who they beat 7-3. On Sunday they lost 4-6 to a strong Sussex team. and 3-7 to Surrey. Lost to play for on 2nd and 3rd February at Wood Green TTC.

The Veterans 6th team played 3 matches over the weekend. On Saturday they lost 2-8 to Oxford 2. Sunday they were comprehensively beaten by Bedfordshire 2 0-10, but a good win over Berkshire 4 8-2 restored some pride.

20th October 2018 The Middlesex cadet teams were in action with a talented line up. For the first team Joseph Hunter, Barney Mindlin, Charlie Nabarro and Scarlett Anders were our starlets and for the second team Brandon Sangchin, Jenson Moreno, Lucas Aulnette and jacquerline Lesh were the other starlets.
In the morning session Middlesex 1 played Suffolk and the team went on to win 7-3. The second team were very unlucky to lose 4-6 to Essex, especially Brandon Sangccin who lost a 5 setter. The mid session saw the first team playing the second and it was a 7-2 win to the first team, the match between the 2 second girls being void as neither team had a second girl.

In the final session Middlesex 1 played Suffolk who they beat 7-3. Joseph Hunter and Scarlett Anders won all their matches. The other teams in the division are Surrey1 and Surrey 2 and Sussex 2. These matches will be played at the end of the March, and we look forward to having a full strength team then. My thanks to the all the parents who supported the teams, Alan Hunter, Jeff Mindlin, Dean Nabarro, jean-Marie Aulnette, Jose Moreno and his family, Philip Sangchin Gill Lesh, who also plays for our Veteran’s 2nd team. Without their help and patience this would have been difficult to co-ordinate.
Some photographs are available on our facebook site.

Tony Dias 29th September 2018

Start of the new season. The Junior 2nd team started the season for us, playing at BATTS, HARLOW. The team comprised of Joshua Amanor, Thevian Loganathan, Arjun Arora, Scarlett Anders and Talia Benin Reid. Their first match was against Sussex2. which they drew 5-5. The 2nd match was againsta strong Surrey 1 whose players were ranked much higher. They lost 0-10. Buckinghamshire next, another draw 5-5. Final match of the day was against Devon 2 which they lost 3-7. All to play for in March.

Tony Dias